South Africa’s longboard world champ

first_img21 October 2008 His best two rides of 9.22 and 8.90 gave the champion a heat total of 18.12 that left US Open champion Taylor Jensen (USA) and reigning ASP World Champion Phil Rajzman of Brazil needing a combination of two scores in third and fourth places respectively. Brazil took third place and France recorded their best ever result by snatching the copper medal for fourth, just one point in front of Costa Rica, with Portugal in sixth. Title winnersThe USA’s CJ Hobgood took the men’s surfing title, Sally Fitzgibbons of Australia triumphed in the women’s surfing, Marcus Lima of Brazil won the men’s bodyboarding, Natasha Sagardia earned a first gold medal for Puerto Rico in women’s bodyboarding, and France won the Aloha Cup tag team event. Australia emerged as the champion nation at the 22nd edition of the “Olympics of Surfing”, earning the accolade for the third consecutive time. Gold: Marcus Lima (BRA)Silver: Manuel Centeno (POR) Bronze: Hugo Pinheiro (POR)Copper: David Lee (RSA) South Africans:Klee Strachan – 13th Matthew Kruger – 21st Ryan Payne – 29th Devyn Mattheys – 61st South Africans:Tarryn Chudleigh – 8thChantelle Rautenbach – 16th Gold: Australia – 17.238 pts Silver: USA – 14.284 pts Bronze: Brazil – 12.610 pts Copper: France – 11.819 pts South Africans:Pamela Bowren – 11th ‘I’m pretty happy’“Marcelo Freitas won it three times in a row and I’ve done it twice, so I’m pretty happy for that. I had great support from my teammates on the beach. That was amazing, I just can’t believe it.” Open Men’s Surfing Gold: CJ Hobgood (USA) Silver: Heath Joske (AUS)Bronze: Dayyan Neve (AUS) Copper: Kai Otton (AUS) Gold: Natasha Sagardia (PRI)Silver: Heloise Bourroux (FRA) Bronze: Rita Pires (POR)Copper: Lilly Pollard (AUS) The South Africans’ form was not as good in the final and they finished well off the pace in fourth place behind France, who recorded the narrowest of victories over host nation Portugal, with surprise package Costa Rica in third. “I’m so, so stoked. I never thought I would have the chance to win two events in a row,” Moir said from the victory dais. Open Women’s Surfing Women’s Bodyboarding Men’s Bodyboarding Matthew Moir was the toast of Team South Africa when he successfully defended his ISA World Longboard title on the final day of the 2008 ISA World Surfing Games at Costa de Caparica in Portugal on Sunday.center_img World Champion Nation SAinfo reporter BodyboardingLee dropped into the gruelling man’s bodyboard repecharge rounds when he placed third behind teammate Sacha Specker and 2006 champ Manuel Centeno of Portugal in round four of the winner’s stream. Tag teamThe South Africa tag team finished second behind France and ahead of Australia and the UK to qualify for the final of the Aloha Cup event – a form of relay surfing contested by the teams finishing in the top eight at the previous ISA World Surfing Games. Moir fought out a high scoring duel with Australian champion Harley Ingleby in the final, mastering the tricky half-to-one-metre waves to rack up five rides over 7.5 points. Overall, Team South Africa finished in seventh place amongst the 29 national teams attending the event. Australia, who had three team members in the Grand Final of the men’s surfing – the highest counting division – finished nearly 3 000 points ahead of the second placed USA. Specker finished fifth overall after a great run in the event where he advanced straight to the winner’s stream final before being relegated to the repecharge final in which he placed third behind Lee and Lima to just miss out on a place in the Grand Final and a medal. South Africa: – 7th – 11.237 pts Moir won each of the five heats he contested en route to his second successive gold medal. Now he is hoping to match the three consecutive longboard titles recorded by Brazil’s Marcelo Freitas. South Africans:Sacha Specker – 5th Gold: Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS) Silver: Marie Dejean (FRA) Bronze: Camila Cassia (BRA) Copper: Lauren Sweeney (USA) The Capetonian was not the only South African to make it onto the podium; Dave Lee earned the copper medal for fourth place in the men’s bodyboarding and the SA tag team also captured the copper medal in the Aloha Cup. He then battled his way through three more rounds to reach the Grand Final where Lima emerged victorious after Lee, Centeno and 2006 runner-up, Hugo Pinheiro of Portugal, were all penalised with interference calls in the hotly-contested encounter. Longboard Gold: Matthew Moir (RSA)Silver: Harley Ingleby (AUS) Bronze: Taylor Jensen (USA)Copper: Phil Rajzman (BRA) Would you like to use this article in your publication or on your website? See: Using SAinfo material Only Ingleby, with the heat high score of 9.74 on his final ride, was within one score of overtaking Moir when the siren sounded to end the final. Aloha CupGold: France Silver: Portugal Bronze: Costa Rica Copper: South Africalast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *